No Mushfiqur for Pakistan T20Is as Bangladesh name young squad following poor World Cup

Bangladesh add uncapped Saif Hassan, Shahidul Islam, Yasir Ali and Akbar Ali for the T20Is

Mushfiqur Rahim is the biggest victim of the aftermath of Bangladesh in the T20 World Cup, having been eliminated from the three T20I Series games against Pakistan on Friday. This is the first time Mushfiqur has been banned from a team since 2008 when Dhiman Ghosh replaced him with a Mushfiqur who has played 99 T20I, had 95 runs in five Super 12 games, including half a century against Sri Lanka.

Although head coach Minhajul Abedin insisted that Mushfiqur be rested for the T20I series for the next two months, taking into account Bangladesh’s schedule, it was reported that Mushfiqur was ready to play in those three games. “We have four friendlies in a row against Pakistan and New Zealand,” said Minhajul. “He’s a key player. He’s one of our best players. Tamim Iqbal is already injured. He has doubts about the test series.”

The national coaches have instead opted for a young side by including Saif Hassan, Shahidul Islam, Yasir Ali and Akbar Ali among the six inclusions. Najmul Hossain Shanto and leg thrower Aminul Islam are on the side. There are first-time calls for quick pitcher Shahidul and top hitter Akbar, who captained Bangladesh when he won the Under-19 World Cup last year. year, but has not yet played international cricket. Afif Hossain, however, retained his place in the squad despite scoring just 14 points in five Super 12 games.

Liton and Soumya were already playing for Rangpur and Khulna in the National Cricket League, respectively. But T20I plans can still return to Bangladesh, according to Minhajul. “We have just returned from a disappointing T20 World Cup. It was unexpected,” he said.“We didn’t have a bad team. This year we won both T20I series at home. However, we are looking to start over. Our planning for the next T20 World Cup starts after this season’s BPL, but we want to start over. start well in these series.

Those who are dropped, they have to do well in the domestic competitions. The BPL is coming up. Nobody will be forgotten. We have to keep them in the system. We have the A team programme. We also have the High Performance Unit. We will keep everyone we need, in these squads.

IN: Saif Hassan, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Aminul Islam, Shahidul Islam, Yasir Ali, Akbar Ali

OUT: Soumya Sarkar, Liton Das, Shakib Al Hasan (hamstring injury), Mushfiqur Rahim, Rubel Hossain

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top